PDA

View Full Version : hit the start button, green light fades, but no click

rebel33382
05-23-2009, 12:16 AM
on my 200es, when I hit the stater button, nothing happens except that the green nuetral light dims a little bit. but no click or starter action. Now if I jump the starter solenoind with a screw driver, turns over and fires rightup (with key in on position) any ideas??

Hair Bear Bunch
05-23-2009, 02:02 AM
I'm no expert on the 200, but I would be looking for a dirty switch or damaged wiring in the switch line.
If you take the switch apart an short the wires there, if it fires then the switch if faulty/dirty, if not check the loom for damage and check the fuses for dirty/corroded contacts.

Thorpe
05-23-2009, 02:04 AM
Check your fuses?

Name Brand
05-23-2009, 03:47 AM
The starter solenoid is just a device that connects the positive wire coming off the battery to the wire going to the starter motor. The 'START' buttons activates the starter solenoid. When you hit the 'START' button, the solenoid closes (a couple of copper contacts touch) and the circuit providing battery power to the starter motor is completed. By jumping the contacts on the starter solenoid, you've done what it's supposed to. Since the machine started up when you did, you've verified the battery and starter motor are good and the starter solenoid is not operating. The fuse is also good since your green neutral light is coming on.

There's a few reasons why your solenoid would not be operating. If the copper contacts inside are worn away and are dirty/sooty (think about the scorch that happens due to electrical arc) it will operate less effectively and over time will eventually fail. You should hear a click and nothing else when you hit the 'START' button. This is the sound of the copper contacts hitting each other. The problem is electricity is not carried between them due to erosion and scorching from the arc.