PDA

View Full Version : Yamaha tri z motor swap question

Yamaha_Rules69
05-05-2009, 05:12 PM
Still looking to build a motor for my tri Z. Since im fairly new to the yamaha tri z, I was wondering what motors for sure fit into the frame with basically no modifications. I have done some research, and from what I know so far is that the 83-87 yamaha yz 250 should fit, along with the yz 490 or IT 490 earlier years (exhaust coming left from jug) Anyways, is this correct so far? I noticed that the yz motors would be power valved, so you would have to use a yz jug and piston then, because the tri z jug is different and wont bolt up, is this correct? Also, am I able to convert the yz motor to forward kick? I see it uses virtually the same clutch assembly as the Z as well. Would the YZ 250 motor even be good with this early powervalve setup in teh tri z frame? If anyone has any advice or tips, just let me know. It seems like the YZ motors are a little more plentiful than the tri z, but not by much either. Would it be worth it? Thanks again, Jon.:cool:

Dirtcrasher
05-05-2009, 05:34 PM
I'm sure RAFFA knows what works and whats too much work......

factoryX
05-05-2009, 08:06 PM
I would try a it490, so you have lights...

Bryan Raffa
05-05-2009, 09:18 PM
the later years for the It490 and yz 490's after 84 with the exhaust port in the center..even then its a reverse kick

yes you can convert a Z motor to a powervalve..and use the Z kickstart gears for a reverse kick..its a PITA.. 03orangeshee and Gdkarma both have them

real sim for a direct bolt in ...cuttin torch anythings possible.. me myself.. would like a 250f with a 290 kit on it in a tri z ..even then you gotta deal with the kickstart

Yamaha_Rules69
05-06-2009, 12:04 AM
Thanks for the advice guys, Raffa, your tri z looks like it goes like a bat out of hell!! So I would need a yz 250 bottom end and matching jug, since the Z motor is different, right? You cant swap jugs?