PDA

View Full Version : why are 3 wheels better than 4?

pistonhead72
02-21-2009, 11:54 PM
I'm new to 3 wheeling, just picked up my first trike recently - an '85 250SX. I was looking for a quad, but found this SX on craigslist the next town over from me. It's in good shape and I got it for only $600. I remember these things when they first came out, (I'm 36). When I found this and the other 3 wheeler sites, I was surprised at how many people are still into these things. Just wondering why you guys prefer trikes over quads.

Hoosier_Daddy
02-21-2009, 11:56 PM
You have to have skill to properly ride a 3 wheeler at it best and people take pride in that. Quads are great and fun to but you basucally just sit there are turn around corners. We can do that in our cars. lol:naughty:

Frankencelery
02-22-2009, 12:42 AM
I originally got into them because they're comparatively cheap, but I agree. Riding one of these big modern quads reminds me of how pilots describe flying a jumbo jet....it's all done with electronics. I'm not a pro rider by any means, but you can really *feel* the trail when riding a trike. I rode my buddy's Honda Whatever 500, and it was like driving a jeep or something. Also, trikes are SO light. If you tip one over or get it stuck, it's easy for one guy to get it turned over or unstuck. Try that with a 500cc quad without a winch.

beets442
02-22-2009, 12:47 AM
There's a certain type of person that wants to ride a 3 wheeler. The kind that doesn't like being told what to do, but just doing it and their fun to ride!

threewheelin-feelin
02-22-2009, 01:01 AM
[QUOTE=beets442;711935 The kind that doesn't like being told what to do,[/QUOTE]

man what a rebel lol just messing with ya man i feel the same way about mine...i love the looks i get and the things people say when im at the local riding spot there were guys riding 500 predators and 450's and they wouldnt touch my 350x just look at it and said wow you really can ride that bike lol

1upfront