PDA

View Full Version : Toasted my 350x motor?

Fisherman2008
12-11-2008, 05:33 PM
I really screwed up....

I went out to my '85 350x (which had been sitting for about a year), added a bit of gas and kicked it over --- it started right up, but made a terrible screeching sound. I shut it down and checked the oil and it was full of gas, like several cups worth....(freak out time). I can't believe I was too dumb to check the oil BEFORE I started it up, but what's done is done.

So -- what now? I'm guessing I've probably damaged my crank bearings, scored my crank, etc, but I'm not experienced enough with ATV motors to really know.

I'm open to suggestions....

Thanks,

Terry

Yamatrike400
12-11-2008, 05:39 PM
How long did you run it?

Fisherman2008
12-11-2008, 05:44 PM
Less than 10 seconds -- long enough for me to have a heart attack, then fumble around and hit the kill switch...

i58829
12-11-2008, 05:46 PM
I would guess that the head was lacking oil after sitting so long. Maybe something got a little plugged up in the oil lines over time...

Blown 331
12-11-2008, 05:48 PM
I'd change the oil and start it again. A friend of mine drained the oil on his ATC200 and then accidently rode it for 2 hours until it locked up. When it cooled it started turning over again. He put oil in it and it still runs! lol.

Fisherman2008
12-11-2008, 06:03 PM
Two hours! Wow, that gives me some hope for mine -- I've actually owned it since I bought it brand new back in '86 and kept it in really good shape...I'll change the oil tonight and try it again.

Thanks!

Terry

blue27
12-11-2008, 06:18 PM
sounds like the top end was starved for oil, try it again with fresh oil (make sure you put the oil filter in right if you change it, if installed backward will starve the top end of oil and normally trash the cam and head). Hopefully eveything will be alright, the bottom ends are all but bulletproof so if there is an issue it will be the cam and head. Good Luck

Dirtcrasher
12-11-2008, 06:30 PM