PDA

View Full Version : High Rev after riding? oil amount? starting problem?

yamaha83
10-14-2008, 05:41 PM
i'm slowly moving along trying to finish my 175 tri moto project. I got it running saturday night and was able to drive it around the yard for a while to make sure things are working the way they should. I ran into 3 problems so far that i could use some help correcting. keep in mind i'm somewhat new to 2 stroke engines. also, i cleaned the entire fuel system and the carb and i'm running premix 32:1. Anyway, the questions are:
1)It takes forever to start... every few pulls it will run for 2 or 3 seconds but it is unresponsive to the throttle. After a several (8-10) of these 2-3 second sputters it will start up no problem and start everytime after right away. then when it gets cold again it does the 2-3 second sputter thing. is this just how it works or does something need to be adjusted?

2)next question, after riding around a bit i come to a stop and drop it to neutral. in neutral it will idle for about 3 seconds and then rev up real high. i shut it off right away so it doesn't blow itself up so i'm not sure if it would come back to idle. i read some stuff on here about fuel starvation causing a high rev but it runs fine until i put it back into neutral after riding and it idles pretty consistantly before i ride. any ideas??