PDA

View Full Version : need help with electric start on big red

blueflash
08-19-2008, 11:36 PM
heh guys I just bought a 1984 big red es 200, so Im not to familiar with it yet. Anyways I went mud bogging and everything was fine until I washed it off and now the electric start wont work. It isnt getting power to the starter, I have checked the under the seat fuse and its fine. Any ideas on were to start looking would be appreciated.

firehart
08-20-2008, 12:31 AM
The water pressure may have loosened one of the connections. I'd start at the starter and clean all of the connections.

userj8670
08-20-2008, 10:21 AM
take a hammer and GENTLY tap the relay. Sometimes mine acts funky and that usually fixes it. A hammer is the tool to fix anything ;)

blueflash
08-20-2008, 11:40 AM
Sorry to sound like a dip, but I am a novice when it comes to fixing stuff. Were is the relay?

ScottZJ
08-20-2008, 12:25 PM
The switch is the button you push to start the trike. Alot of times it gets rusty or full of mud that blocks the metal plates from touching. Sometimes they are so worn out they just dont work good anymore. You could get a new on/off switch off ebay with hopefully a good working starter (if you cant fix yours), or you could get a push button starter from an auto store and bypass the non-working one.

cybrman
08-20-2008, 02:32 PM
The relay is near the rear of the bike, mine is on the left side next to the battery on my 250sx. It is a small black cylinder, one end connects to the battery and the other connects to the starter. The switch on the handlebars connects the two sending power to the starter. I have a problem where there is a short in one of the wires coming from the switch and simply fiddling with them will make mine work. I would guess your problem is simliar, a short somewhere.