PDA

View Full Version : How to take care of a 2 stroke engine ( 84 250r )

bebeav
06-17-2003, 06:47 PM
How do you take care of your engine?
What do you do and don't?
How can you keep away your engine from rebuild?
Is a motomaster 2 stroke oil with a 20:1 mix is good?
How do ride your 2 stroke engine?

I'm new to two stroke and want to learn the most I can.

Since my engine blew, I'm doing my first rebuild ( ride the trike 45 min after i bought it ). It while took some time cause i don't have cash now to buy all the stuff needed.

But after my rebuild i want my engine to run perfectly or near this at least one or two summer, cause i don't want to rebuild it each year exept changing my ring each winter.

ALP
Beav

Dirtcrasher
06-17-2003, 07:20 PM
You just rebuilt it?? Make sure you break it in nice and easy for a few rides always vary throttle but no more than 1/4 throttle then 1/2 then 3/4 etc etc then pin it wide open constantly and trust me you will not hurt that motor.
Biggest mistake is people throwing in top ends and then the lower going out. Anyone can do a 2 stroke piston but the crank and mais are much more difficult and more expensive.
Not just 2 strokes but any bike for longevity purposes - change the oil often and keep the filter clean. Every single bike I've ever owned leaks dirt where the back carb boot mates to the airbox EVERY ONE!!! Take that apart and silicone it well. Then the filter can do it's job and always put a ring of grease around where the air filter meets the air box front flange.
I've had some bikes last years with proper maintenance.
2 strokes love to be held wide open, not hurting it a bit as long as it's fresh.
And let that air cooled engine cool off once in awhile, I always use to give mine a rest.