PDA

View Full Version : Where to start?

saturnthegiant
07-24-2008, 02:54 PM
Now that i have my Big Red, i have probably the worst newbie question- where do i start? Should i start by cleaning the carb? I'm totally new to these trikes. It may be a week or two before i can start buying a battery, spark plug, or any wiring, etc. What can i do in the meantime?

oscarmayer
07-24-2008, 03:07 PM
cleanign the carb probebly would not work so well. you probelby need to get on ebay and get a carb rebuild kit.

me, I'd do a compression test to ensure it's got good compression, change the oil using pensoil 10w40.
clean the air filter and maybe even take the plastics off and clean the entire trike and scrub it with soap and water to clean it up. the trunk would need cleaning i bet.

but i say that about the carb cause if it ahs not been appart any time in the last coupel of years, chances are if you take it appart it will damage the seals and yuo'll be forced to rebuild it anyway.

devilman
07-24-2008, 04:02 PM
how is the inside of the gas tank? if its rusty, you can make a makeshift tank just to see if she will fire up, fuel filter change, i would also bust the rust off all wire connections to make sure it all has contact.

Vealmonkey
07-24-2008, 04:14 PM
A good tune up while you are waiting would be a good idea too. Setting the timing statically and adjusting the valves properly will go along way to make sure when it is time to fire up that it will help alot. Take your timing and learn to do these things right and it will help you alot in the long run.

Trouble
07-24-2008, 08:22 PM
Clean it, clean all the wire connections, change the oil, check the airfilter, rebuild the carb, clean the gas tank and add a inline fuel filter and :pics::pics::pics::pics::pics:!!!

saturnthegiant
07-25-2008, 12:36 AM
A few more questions if you guys don't mind- you guys are a great help- i hope someday i can repay the favor or help someone new......