PDA

View Full Version : DUDES!!!! Street legal ATC!!!!

oscarmayer
07-09-2008, 07:08 PM
I'm so dam stoked!!!!!!

I was driving home today and say a guy on a enturo bike. it looked exactly liek a dirt bike butin 4 stroke and had turn signals and plates. I studied i as he was at tne light kinda infront of me at an angle. then I got to thinking. why can;t my atc me legalized? So i dug deeper and this is what I found out.

i called the TXDOT and talked to them, they told me as long as it passes inspection then it can be street legalized. I went by an inspection place, the guy was excited as me. he said that it can be registured as a motorcycle.
Here re the basics. if it's over 50cc and has mor ethan 1 gear change it's a motorcycle.

requirements:
hi/low beamed headlight
turn signals (any kind as long as they work) (front and rear)
brake lights that work when brakes are used
rear lamp that lights when lights are turned on
rear license plate light of some sort that lights the plate up at night
tires with some sort of tread (knobby's qualify just cannot be slicks)
horn
brakes
2 or more gear changes
50cc+ in engine size for a 4 stroke, and 100cc+ for a 2stroke
insurance

Dudes I can do this!!! think about it, your driving along the road and riding next to you is a guy on a atc. what would ya think of that? If i get it legalized i'm going to ride it to work every chance i get!!!!!!

where's what i need to know.
the 200e has a generator correct? it charges the battery and keesp the electricla working right?
if so, can i tap into the power and ground wires to make a custom turn signal setup using LED lights? i read the 200e uses a 12v system. so that's very compatable! i found some blinking LEDs for turn signals and then I can rig something up for a brake light (if the rear light is not a brake light already)

i can attach the rear light to the headlight switch so when i switch the front light on, it lights the rear light too.