PDA

View Full Version : Grease INSIDE a transmission

jaykup
05-29-2008, 07:04 PM
So my friend is putting together his Tri-Z transmission (ran out of oil and seized second gear to the shaft, put another shaft and gears into it.

When he re-assembled, he used about 1/4 of a tube of grease on the gears and shafts.

To me, this seems like a very bad idea, gunking up and blocking oil ports.

Any thoughts?

bearclawchris
05-29-2008, 07:18 PM
I am no expert , but I have worked on alot of things. I think shafts and bearings on most any transmission or engine are of a tight enough tolerance that anything heavier than say 80/90 gear lube would be pushing it and asking for trouble. Gearcases in say a two stroke polaris call for very little and very light oil. I would think this could be asking for trouble. Lets see what the general consensus is.

The Goat
05-29-2008, 07:42 PM
I know guys who use petroleum jelly by the jug when assembling an engine...so idk.

I would have to say he overdid it though, I typically put a lite coat of assembly grease on piston, cylinder, cam, rockers, and so on.

Probably less than a teaspoon.

toocheaptosmoke
05-29-2008, 10:53 PM
I would not do that, the grease may "clog" everything up as said before. When I rebuilt my jeep's tranny there was a specific warning to NOT use regular axle grease for assembly. The heavy grease does not dissolve and plugs oil passages and sheds oil from bearing surfaces. Petroleum jelly will dissolve more readily and still give enough tack and lube for assembly.

300rman
05-30-2008, 12:35 AM
many lawn mower trannies are filled with grease instead of oil.

McDerry
05-30-2008, 02:23 AM
Once it heats up it will run off the gears like oil.

Curtis-Tecate3
05-30-2008, 01:21 PM
I don't know about you but I would say to be prepared to change clutch plates after the first ride....

Curtis

WIkid500
05-31-2008, 12:55 PM
http://www.lubriplate.com/products/greases/no-105-motor-assembly-grease.html