PDA

View Full Version : Rebuild help

MudBuggy
05-11-2008, 10:39 PM
Ive got an 85 200s and im having problems getting it running. I had it running fine but took it on a trailer to my house where i now live. It will not fire, sounds like its not getting spark. I messed with it all day yesterday and finally got spark by cleaning out the cylinder and putting a cleaner plug in it. The guy i bought it from said it had been rebuilt and as far as i can see he is telling the truth, ie: gaskets, rings. My problem is that it sat overnight and now i can not get the motor to start again and it is harder to pull on the starter. Its not locked up but it is harder to get to pull start. Im very new to this but would like to get into it more. Can anyone help me or get me a site that can help. I would also like to know about more sites for parts and info. Thanks for the help.-Dan

i58829
05-11-2008, 11:16 PM
Was the gas shut off when you were hauling it? I know my 85 200x wouldn't fire if you wanted to haul it somewhere and then ride. I could kick that thing forever and it wouldn't go unless you pulled it for a bit or let it sit for a few hours. Maybe yours flooded and thats why you had the initial plug issue.

What do you mean by cleaned out the cylinder? Did you pull it a few times without a plug? I'd try a brand new spark plug, and just make sure you didn't have a wire come unplugged or a damaged ground.

And welcome to the site, the classifieds here and ebay are about the best places for used parts, and this is the site for any tech help you may need, TC...

MudBuggy
05-11-2008, 11:29 PM