PDA

View Full Version : Tecate Starting And Idling Problem

BELGIUM KXT250
03-03-2008, 07:37 PM
Hi,

I have 2 problems with my tecate and I am totally new with trike so I apoligize for stupid questions I could ask...

When starting the tecate cold and putting the choke on do I have to give gas or I don't have to touch the throttle ?

Also when it's idling after 30 seconds and without touching anything the tecate begins to run high in rpm so I put the choke off but then the engine stall.

What do you think ?

cr480r
03-03-2008, 11:11 PM
When starting the tecate cold and putting the choke on do I have to give gas or I don't have to touch the throttle ?

Also when it's idling after 30 seconds and without touching anything the tecate begins to run high in rpm so I put the choke off but then the engine stall.

What do you think ?

The choke doesnt draw fuel with the throttle open... its an enrichment circuit not a butterfly like some carbs have.. I turn the choke off after a few seconds and keep it running with the throttle until it warms up a bit...

BELGIUM KXT250
03-04-2008, 03:21 PM
Thanks for your answer. Well let me tell you what has happened today. I was kick starting it and after several difficult attempts it started. Then again it raised in the rpm I closed the choke off but it still continued to rise more and more without stopping. Eventually I had to push my kill switch button.

I was really upset because I changed my pilot air screw setting before starting and thought that I had really messed up by doing that...and that the high rpm at idle was the consequence of the wrong pilot air screw setting.