PDA

View Full Version : ahhh timing help please( DONE )

bigred1
02-21-2008, 08:29 PM
i have an actron digital light from sears and want to check timing on 82 200e. i've never used a timing light before. first ? i have is, the manual says to hook a portable tach well my timing light has an inductive pick up clamp that measures rpm is this good enough or does it have to be a separate unit? second is light manual talks about the timing adv. buttons is this something that is only used on engines with vacum adv. dist.? thanks for the help

bigred1
02-21-2008, 10:52 PM
can anyone tell me about this?

SWIGIN
02-22-2008, 10:08 AM
you can use a timing light on a bike but its not as easy as using it on a car

years ago my buddys messed with this and i seem to rember them useing a shiny peice of tape for the light to reflect off of....or maybe this was a rpm counter

ether way you dont use a light to ajust the timing on a atv

bigred1
02-22-2008, 03:30 PM
you can use a timing light on a bike but its not as easy as using it on a car

years ago my buddys messed with this and i seem to rember them useing a shiny peice of tape for the light to reflect off of....or maybe this was a rpm counter

ether way you dont use a light to ajust the timing on a atv

i'm talking about checking timing ( to adjust timing I turn the pulse gen, according to manual ) and to CHECK timing the manual also says to use timing light so if you have another way of doing this please elaborate. Thank you.

topless
02-22-2008, 05:22 PM
We used a digital timing light to check our timing. I shows rpm and uses a induction clamp. We just hooked it up to a spare 12v battery for power. It worked great.

SWIGIN
02-22-2008, 05:27 PM
to tell the truth the reading dont matter at all

as long as you have it advanced and its not pinging your set

bigred1
02-23-2008, 04:45 PM