PDA

View Full Version : My 87 200x feels choked up. Will new pipe help?

Chris070780
01-14-2008, 10:22 AM
I have an 87 200x that I just started riding. This bike is in mint shape. When I received the trike the exhaust was broke off at the silencer and I could swear it had way more power before I welded it back on. I took my first long trail ride on it yesterday and it just felt way slow. On the road a poorly running blaster with a pipe could walk away from it.

I know the motor is healthily. It has good compression and doesn’t smoke. My question is where is the power with this motor? Is it worth purchasing a cobra pipe? Will removing the center baffle from the stock pipe do anything? I am trying to find some cheap power so if you have any ideas please let me know?

edog
01-14-2008, 10:28 AM
Try a different pipe.Maybe a 4 inch Supertrapp,K+N filter,jet it.

That will wake it up!

Chris070780
01-14-2008, 10:38 AM
Try a different pipe.Maybe a 4 inch Supertrapp,K+N filter,jet it.

That will wake it up!

Supper trap still make a pipe for the 86-87 200x's?

edog
01-14-2008, 10:40 AM
I am not that shure.I know you can get a super trapp muffler from Denis Kirk.Just the end muffler peice.

Chris070780
01-14-2008, 10:52 AM
Well I don’t really want to spend a lot of money on a pipe. Dennis Kirk has the reverse mega cone Cobra muffler for like $130 which is not bad. I am wondering where the restriction is? The head pipe or the muffler? If it’s the muffler I can just remove the inner baffle and have about the same pipe as the $130 cobra.

super90
01-14-2008, 11:02 AM
You need to get a new header and muffler. The stock header is tiny and chokes it up alot. try a cobra header and muffler, or customize a better pipe to fit and use the cobra header like i did.

Chris070780
01-14-2008, 11:19 AM