PDA

View Full Version : Questions About my 1985 Honda Big Red

YooperRider
12-24-2007, 10:31 AM
Hey guys, I've been a member for a while, but this is my first post. I have a 1985 Honda 250ES Big Red, I've had it for a little over a year now and its by far the best machine ive ever owned. I've had a few other ATC's as well including a 1983 110, a couple 185s's, and a 200x, so I have some experience and knowledge about these machines. Anyways, heres my question;

I am not big on electronics and accesories, I like my big red, but I dont like the electric start, or the little dash thing with the key and the little accesory lights (reverse, neutral), or the headlight controls (on / off, high / low), or the tail light, or the Battery, or any of that crap. I had my last 185 set up with only a kill switch, no lights, no nothing, I like them simple like that, but I got the big red for the suspension and shaft drive and reverse. So what I am wondering is how I can simplify its wiring, the battery is dead now from the cold weather, can I just yank it out and eliminate the wiring? how about the ignition switch? can I just bypass it?

Basically I just want a kill switch, and a headlight that is on all the time. Can this be done with the Big Red, or is its wiring and electrical system to complex to do this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

thanks guys, and I hope everyone has a Merry Christmas!

TravEX
12-24-2007, 11:44 AM
I guess you could, I don't really see the point. You just want a kick start Big Red? The wiring diaghram is in the Clymer's manual, if I had my scanner going I would scan it and post it for ya. A manual is a great tool.

Maybe someone else will chime in, because I think that it is not good to run the motor without a battery on it, something to do with the stator or voltage regulator or something.

Good luck, and WELCOME to the boards, you WILL get addicted! hehe

Travis

Dirtcrasher
12-24-2007, 11:52 AM