PDA

View Full Version : Anatomy of a TIGER fender repair PICS

Orangecnty250r
12-23-2007, 08:38 PM
OK guys if you have a cracked tiger fender even missing chunks it can be repaired!!!!! DONT RIVOT the heck out of it...take your time and you can save an ORIGINAL fender. Out of my 6 keeper tigers I do have 6 rear fenders...4 are perfect.......2 were damaged in the same way...the one pictured was the worst. I thought to myself what a shame and didnt think I could ever get it looking right. Hey Grundlegrabber this was your rear!!! Chunks missing, cracks, general disgusting old crappy decals. I have been working on both fenders slowly for 2 1/2 months now during little bits of free time

This is what I did.

1. Removed all the decals

2. 220 sanded like crazy

3. To repair the back which has angles and curves....(not an easy flat piece) I decided to go with a flat 1/8th piece of aluminum that ran across the entire back with 4 rivots mounted all symetrically on both sides to keep it strong and to reduce the thickness of fiberglass and bondo. I took one of my good fenders and fabricated the curves behind the original PVC...took a few hours for each fender.

4. Once fastened I use fiberglass sheets on the back side of the fender to bridge the gaps.

5. Bondo and weeks of sanding to replicate the curves.

6. I used fusion dover white as Tigers never had a crazy gloss to the PVC fender and it looks very natural.

Now I am no auto bodyman and I am sure a body pro could have even made it nicer but I am pleased with my work in taking these beat to crap original rears and making them usable enough again for my collection...The other one is coming out just as nice...doing a glaze coat tonight....should be done in a few days.

Orangecnty250r
12-23-2007, 08:41 PM
More pics and the finished product

Tri-ZNate
12-23-2007, 08:52 PM
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :drool:

THAT IS Raggadellic! You cant even tell:beer

TwoHundredEx
12-23-2007, 08:58 PM
That's incredible!
Very nice work.