PDA

View Full Version : carb flooding

HankReardon
09-18-2007, 02:36 PM
Gentlemen -

About two weeks ago, I posted several questions, and with your answers, I was able to fix every single problem that I asked about. Unfortunately, a new problem has arisen.

My Yamaha 200E trike seems to "leak" fuel into the (I am not a mechanic, excuse my lack of technical terms) air passageway (main tube going from the air cleaner, through the top part of the carb, into the cylinder).

I took my bike out for a great ride, and after about 5 minutes, it died on it. She ran great until it died. Once it died, it wouldn't even fire. To save time, instead of taking the carb off, I just popped the throttle off of the carb. The little hole where the throttle needle goes down had gas coming up out of it. it wasn't high pressure, but it was enough to get the passageway damp.

My needle nose assembly is brand new. I took the carb apart and by pressing up on the float, the flow of gas would shut off. The air equalization tube is clear. The float moves very easily on its own.

Any thoughts on this? I thought I had my trike in perfect working order, but this last problem baffles my mind.

Thank you in advance for any responses.

chris200x
09-18-2007, 02:40 PM
Take the carb off and take it apart. clean it good with carb cleaner. making sure to blow out the jets. then reassemble. it only takes one little speck of dirt in there to clog it up.

Rustytinhorn
09-18-2007, 05:36 PM
How old are the floats? It is possible that the floats could be collapsed or have lost their boyancy, so it doesn't shut off the gas flow at the correct level anymore causing it to flood.
Did you say the float needle valve was brand new? It could be worn or have a foreign object (piece of silt or sand) keeping it from closing all the way.
Just my two cents. Hope it helps.

Just another thought... after it dies, does the spark plug come out soaked and wet, carbon fouled, or dry and white?