PDA

View Full Version : Restoring 83 Yamaha 200E

HankReardon
09-06-2007, 09:35 AM
Gentlemen-

I am by no means a mechanic, and everything that I know about my bike I learned while taking it apart and rebuilding it. I consider myself a quick learner. I appologize for any stupid questions, and I have several.

First off, my 3-wheeler sat for about 5 years when I decided to get her going again. The fuel line and the carb where covered with a black gunk. I have cleaned out the carb, taking the jets out, etc, and I also have changed oil. Today, the machine will run, but I am far from content with how it is running.

Questions:

I can't get the choke freed up. The machine runs alright when I leave it forced closed, but I am a perfectionist and I want it freed. Since it is frozen on there, I can't take the entire carb off of the machine (unless I unhook the cable). Any ideas on how to free it?

When I found it, the pilot jet was 3.5 turns out, and the air jet was all the way in. Does that sound right? I found on spec sheet that the air screw should be 1.5 to 2.5 turns out, but it says nothing about the pilot jet. You have to get inside the carb to adjust the pilot.

The gas tank needs a good cleaning. It is plastic. I have read on several different forums ways to clean metal tanks, but the harsh chemicals scare me when it comes to the plastic tank. What is the best way to clean it.

I'm sure that I'll have more questions, but that is it for now. I appreciate your time.

Yamada
09-06-2007, 12:27 PM
For cleaning your gas tank do you try just to dismount it, put gas in it and shake it. Just like you I have to change the choke cable but for now it dont bother me. ( start on first pull everytime) Good luck with your project.

pickleweasel_00
09-06-2007, 01:10 PM
yeah, sounds like the choke cable is prolly no good. New ones are fairly cheap from the dealer

kwbyfrmhell
09-06-2007, 02:26 PM