PDA

View Full Version : More Help With my 110

Rennat_2006
07-26-2007, 10:56 PM
I have had the machine work done and am starting to reassemble now. I have a couple questions though.

See attachment,
Ok so it shows a dowel on the bottom corner on one side and the top on the other side. But when i have looked up the dowels on a fiche it said i needed 3 of one size then 1 of the other. So are all of the studs supposed to have on or just 2 out of 4 of them?

When i took the old piston out i removed the rings for inspection, I have never had a problem with piston rings before but broke the 2nd ring from the top removing it. I went to install it on the new piston tonight and broke it also :mad: Any tips?

I want to have the head gone through. Valves checked, New valve guides etc. I work on cars for a living so it isnt a problem with not having the know how to do it but not having the tools. Can i bring it to a local machine shop like where we bring our heads for car motors and would they be able to go through a head like this and know what to do or will it have to go to the Honda shop?

I think that is all for now question wise, There will be more though im sure.

Thanks in advance

Rennat_2006
07-27-2007, 11:18 PM
30 views and nobody?

tecat-z
07-28-2007, 02:40 AM
Do the head yourself. All you need is a lawnmower valve spring compressor, or a c clamp with a piece of conduit 3/4 of an inch ling and cut 38 of the side out so you can remove retainers. Buy new valves and seals, springs, and hand lap valves in. Install valves and check for guide tightness before final assembly. Odds are pretty good they are fine. As for the broken ring, bad luck i guess. But the do make an expander that any bike shop woud have.

Rennat_2006
07-28-2007, 06:02 PM
C clamp with a piece of 3/4 inch conduit. Cut 38 of the side? Have you made one of these so maybe i could get some pics?

How do you hand lap valves?

tecat-z
07-28-2007, 07:19 PM