PDA

View Full Version : porting a reed cage

SYKO
03-02-2007, 02:36 PM
http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e306/southgacustoms/reedcage.jpg

ok like i said people have done it, I want to try it, and you never know, I may like it, lets do it so can it be done?

:D

tecat-z
03-02-2007, 03:08 PM
Thats a stuffed reed block, and iv'e heard by doing some cutting on them sometimes hurts preformance. It's there to speed up intake charge into engine. Kind of a funnel effect. I suppose it would depend greatly on your particular engines state of tune. Carb, compression, timing, porting, and things of that nature. I have no personal experience in doing this, just what a friend did years ago to an otherwise stock liquid R. Let us know the results.

Billy Golightly
03-02-2007, 03:09 PM
I didn't get to take after pics of mine, but heres a thread I made about it:

http://3wheelerworldforums.com/showthread.php?t=60587&highlight=reed

Bryan Raffa
03-02-2007, 04:10 PM
you want a improvement,,,Put a CR reed cage in it..

SYKO
03-02-2007, 04:55 PM
blah blah blah, I dont have a cr reed cage I have this one!! hence the picture of said reed cage above!

Billy Golightly
03-02-2007, 05:20 PM
I wouldn't mess with the plastic stuffer in your picture except to match it up to the intake boot better.

Bryan Raffa
03-02-2007, 05:22 PM
pull that out!!! and run it!! you got a bigger carb on it right! thats nothing more than a choke point.. let it breathe the cage itself acts like a funnel..

Yamahondaman
03-02-2007, 05:26 PM
you want a improvement,,,Put a CR reed cage in it..
He is right !! i have the "CR" Part No. :naughty: But..............
if you want MORE Performance with what you got..YES ...Take that thing out and THROW AWAY..
ATV Motor's like Volume unlike the new power valved motors that like the smaller intake charge...
back in the day FMF Made them things for the ATV's .. KILLED the TOP Charge

Bryan Raffa
03-02-2007, 05:29 PM