PDA

View Full Version : 1970 Honda ATC 90

re-lapse
02-16-2007, 06:52 PM
Well, I'm new to the forums and I have a few questions for all those intellectual souls out there. I'm not a mechanic and I'm not very intelligent when it comes to automotive.

Anyways, onto the questions. I own a 1970 Honda ATC 90. I paid 75 dollars for it, and it still has the original balloon tires on the back, and a regular 3 wheeler tire on the front. From research, it has 89cc's and should run like a dream. I've found alot of people who own the same bike, maybe a newer year, but never the less, the same bike. They don't have any trouble with their's. But, now onto mine.

The previous owner use to ride it all the time, til' he got his Oddyssey and other high end motorcycles and ATV's, he didn't ride it at all anymore. So, he hung it up for about a year in his garage before I purchased it. I didn't expect it to run right away, as it is fairly old. So, I changed the oil, put brand new oil in it, I changed the gas, and put brand new gas in it. I bought a brand new air filter and put that on as well.

So, after all the work, the verdict. I pulled it, ohhh about 75 times on average, in between adjusting the Jetting and the Idle on the carburetor in hopes that it would start.

Finally, it started, Wooo hooo! I let it run a little bit, and adjusted the idle so it would just stay running without giving it gas. Then, I went to get it to go. Popped it into first, and gave it a little gas, as it lunged forward and quit. Instantly I jumped off and tried to get it started again, it started, so I tried again. It lunged forward and it quit. Frustrated after all the work I've done that it won't run properly to any extent, I gave up. It was midnight, anyway.