PDA

View Full Version : 400ex Exhaust Conversion Started

thebutelr
12-10-2006, 08:43 PM
Hey guys I have been throwing the idea around for a few months on modding a 400ex head pipe to fit an aftermarket slip-on for a 400. After a long time of looking at NOS_350x's pictures of his bike with the 400 system I finally decided I would make an attempt at it. Well here it is, I almost have everything cut right and temporarily fitted before I take it off to get it welded in place. Hey, its a start! :beer :w00t: http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m14/thebutelr/IMG_1614.jpg
http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m14/thebutelr/IMG_1612.jpg

oldsking86
12-10-2006, 08:51 PM
Looks very nice! Hopefully you'll get a bit more power out of it too :beer

jsimonh
12-10-2006, 11:06 PM
Looking good so far:naughty: . What brand of slip-on are you gonna use?

thebutelr
12-10-2006, 11:23 PM
Looking good so far:naughty: . What brand of slip-on are you gonna use? HMF :w00t: .

NOS_350X
12-11-2006, 12:17 AM
Looks like its perty much exactly what i did. Make shure you have the slip on before you weld it all up. That way you know its all going to line up perfectly. you might have to adjust it up or down a bit, at least i had to.

super90
12-11-2006, 12:32 AM
HMF is a good choice! I had them on alot of my toys in the past and they sound great. I bet there are alot of aftermarket pipes that almost fit atc's, just noone has the money/time to try them out.

NOS_350X
12-11-2006, 12:36 AM
HMF is a good choice! I had them on alot of my toys in the past and they sound great. I bet there are alot of aftermarket pipes that almost fit atc's, just noone has the money/time to try them out.

I have tryed many diffrent ones. There are a bunch that need just minor cutting and welding to fit. the trx400ex one is the easyest for the 350x.

thebutelr
12-14-2006, 08:37 PM