PDA

View Full Version : vinyl paint?

Dammit!
05-14-2006, 10:30 PM
Anybody ever use a vinyl spray paint on a trike seat? I was thinking about painting the homemade burgundy seat on my Z black. I've never used any of that stuff before though so I don't know how well it holds up.

Recommendations on brands or anything? The seat I have is in good condition and is extremely comfortable. No sense in replacing it if I don't have to. The color just HAS to go. :lol:

Edit: anyone ever try this stuff (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=8060992323&fromMakeTrack=true)?

Troll 2
05-14-2006, 11:06 PM
I used vht black vinyl dye on the 350x red seat. Its holding up great so far. Good luck on yours.

http://www.bmi.net/magoos/revived1.jpg

Dammit!
05-14-2006, 11:19 PM
I can't find a local dealer for the vht. Found some duplicolor though. Not sure if I want to use that. Don't know why but I get the feeling the vht is superior.

Dammit!
05-15-2006, 12:02 AM
Troll: what color was that seat originally?

Troll 2
05-15-2006, 12:32 AM
It was a red cover. I sprayed the black stripping on. I like the vht brand. Its more of a dye than paint.........................:beer

Dammit!
05-21-2006, 02:28 PM
One more question. Was it the gloss black or the satin black?

I already ordered some gloss black but now I'm wondering if maybe satin would have been a better choice.

Unclediezel
05-21-2006, 03:14 PM
Both brands will hold up well, But Yes --VHT is better......Just be carreful until you get the hang of it---It RUNS terribly if you arent careful.

Dammit!
05-21-2006, 03:34 PM
Both brands will hold up well, But Yes --VHT is better......Just be carreful until you get the hang of it---It RUNS terribly if you arent careful.