PDA

View Full Version : A Tech Question About A Honda 185

honda83
03-03-2006, 04:12 PM
I am new to this site and just purchased a honda 185s about 6 months ago. I owned a honda 4 wheeler awhile back and got bored with it. I am now addicted to 3-wheelers, they're the best.

When I first purchased the trike the spark plug was carbon fouled. So I bought a new plug (same as first) and I sprayed carb cleaner thru the bike. The bike runs good when I run it, however if it sets for a week I notice the plug now is fouled with oil. I figured it might be the piston rings or maybe I need to go with a hotter plug? What do you guys think?

Thanks

Dads
03-03-2006, 07:44 PM
Could be rings, could be valve guides leaking.

Vealmonkey
03-03-2006, 07:48 PM
After you are done riding the bike, do your check your plugs? I'm no expert, but I find it hard to believe that your plugs foul from not even running. Next time you switch plugs and you go riding, check the plugs when you are done. Is anyone else riding the trike that you don't know about?

Dads
03-03-2006, 08:45 PM
And the black on the plug, is it dry or wet looking.

honda83
03-03-2006, 11:39 PM
The black on the plug is wet -oil based.

The plug is wet oil based after I ride it, however it is not as noticeable as when it has been setting for awhile.

Thanks

crackshot
03-03-2006, 11:53 PM
Does it smoke when riding? What brand and number plug you using?

honda83
03-04-2006, 12:05 AM
It does not really smoke when riding. I use a honda NGK plug-DR8ES-L. It runs real good and strong.

When it sets for a week, I clean the plug before starting it cause it is real wet with oil. Its weird, because it was once carbon fouled-I ran a can of carb. cleaner thru it, now its oil fouled.

Dads
03-04-2006, 11:11 AM
""I ran a can of carb. cleaner thru it, now its oil fouled.""

To much of that washes the oil off the cylinder wall and the rings wear quick.

To much gas can make it look like oil on the plug. but will not feel the same.