PDA

View Full Version : What's your take on this,(skyrocketing $$)!!

sandpuppi101
01-28-2006, 11:14 AM
Well I know that I have certainly noticed,and I am sure most ,if not all of you have also noticed! What is it? The skyrocketing prices of trikes nowadays! I have been messing with Honda ATC's for 30 years now and selling -swaping -and restoring them for a solid 10 years ,and have never seen the market for trike parts go up as much as it has lately.It is not uncommon to see a nice 85 or 86 ATC 350X to exceed $5000.00 anymore!,or a beat up half ars 85 R to get $3000.00 or more! I think that the popularity of trikes is great ,and we all know OEM is not only hard to find anymore but is also pricey.Take this for instance-Last week on e-bay a set of OEM rear fenders for a '86 350X ,used I mite add- goes to over 700.00.For used plastic!! I can see alot of people actually getting there nice machines and parting them to simply make a buck.The facts are that certain machines seem to be selling very good ,as others are either stagnant or going down.I enjoy seeing quality original or restored machines and I myself am glad too see that those machines are getting top dollar,I would gladly pay top dollar for a top notch machine that is original or restored,and I am glad too see that-but I have also noticed common - everyday -too mediocor machines sliding under the radar -trying too get the high dollar prices also.So what I am getting at is this:We all love our trikes,and we all love seeing them- I just think that with these skyrocketing prices we have to be a little more aware of what it is we are looking at.We are all family here on 3WW ,and we all have a common goal!! To ride our trikes or restore them,etc! And we all need to look out for one another as far as false advertisement and the difference between buying quality or junk! Some of us on the forum have years upon years of knowledge with trikes and some of you newbies have very little experience,Bottomline we need to be