PDA

View Full Version : Tecate ??

HondaRider
02-17-2003, 03:50 AM
Where do all you Tecate guys get your stators and fly wheels to keep the green machines running? Is aftermarket ones available that are reliable? Can you buy just the coil packs? Should I get rewound? I don't want to buy a used one that could go out an hour or two after I just bought it and put it in my machine... Any suggestions/opinions appreciated. Thanks

Derek

200x Basket
02-17-2003, 04:27 AM
www.rickystator.com

Jeb
02-17-2003, 03:35 PM
If i needed to hunt one up, I'd switch to 85-87 KX250 ignition. use it all, stator, flywheel, coil, and cdi. you can't run lights but you'll have a better ignition system. and that mod is also recommended in kawasaki race setup guide. I have no experience with the pvl's or other aftermarket ignitions.

I have had stator corp rebuild stators and flywheels. they do good work.

HondaRider
02-17-2003, 04:21 PM
So what actually usually causes the electrical problems and makes the stators go out? Is it the stators themselves that are faulty? Or is it because of poor wiring, or cdi units or the coil or what? If I plan to spend the money on another one I don't want the cdi or something burning the new one up? Is anything like this possible? Thanks for your help guys. I'm not real good in the electrical areas... Thanks,

Derek

djcheez
02-17-2003, 04:32 PM
i think it is the flywheel magnets that fall off. i would go with a kx complete ignition. youCAN run lights with those. you just have to buy a lighting coil for it. i have a list of the years of kx250's that lighting coils can be adapted to. just let me know and ill tell you the list. oh and i get a pvl coil if anyone is interested.

Jeb
02-17-2003, 10:28 PM