PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here......need some help

oddy_fever
08-29-2005, 11:24 AM
Hello everyone.....

I just purchased a 1982 ATC 110. I rebuilt the recoil starter last night. I would love to try to start it tonight. Can anyone tell me what plug I should use in this?

Also, There is no boot on the back of the carb, and no air filter. Is there an aftermarket (k&n or uni) that I can attach directly to the back of the carb and use an outer sock? If so, can anyone tell me what they have used so I don't have to try trial and error.

This is all for now. I am sure I will have many questions in the near future. I appreciate any help or suggestions you have.

oddy_fever

zoomerman
08-29-2005, 11:58 AM
an ngk dr8hs is the standard one

bigredhead
08-29-2005, 12:01 PM
You should be able to get aftermarket filters for it.. and get one for sure.. no socks.....

You can run it that way to test if the motor runs.. but don't try to tune the carb without an air filter on it.. you'll never get it right and once you put a filter on it ( wich you need to ride in ANY amount of dust .. ) you will need to fiddle with the carb abain.

So yes.. try and get a filter for that thing as soon as possible.

Welcome aboard !

oddy_fever
08-29-2005, 01:34 PM
Thanks for the replies. I will get a couple new plugs tonight and see what happens.

I will see what Uni makes as a direct attachment. I am not sure of the Diameter out the back of the carb. I will measure it later and see what options I have for the filter.

I suppose I will need to get a bigger jet without runnig an airbox?

bigredhead
08-29-2005, 01:37 PM
on that small of a motor.. with the factory pipe.. don't worry too much about the jets for now.. she should be just fine.

oddy_fever
08-30-2005, 11:39 AM
Update: