PDA

View Full Version : Cam removal 1985 200x help

Solid Snake
08-28-2005, 03:05 PM
Can I remove the cam with the engine still on the trike? Someone told me that if I remove the cam sprocket and hold the cam chain I can pull the cam out without taking off the cylinder head cover. Is this true? When I place it back in should the lobes be facing down and then line up the sprocket and stator mark? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

firefirefire90
08-28-2005, 03:22 PM
Why don't you try it and then tell us the result.

Solid Snake
08-28-2005, 03:31 PM
I've never done it before so I'm kinda worried about messing something up. The guy that told me about that is not around here anymore so I can't ask for his help if I need it.

firefirefire90
08-28-2005, 03:39 PM
Why do you need to do it anyway?

jeswinehart
08-28-2005, 04:19 PM
Yes you can remove the headcap ( very top of the motor that has the vales in it ) and remove the sprocket then the cam.
A couple of tips ( buy a manual is the at the ver top of the list ).
1 - set the motor (piston) at "top dead center" on the compression stroke.
2- loosen the headcap bolts evenly starting from he center and working outwards in 2 or 3 steps.
3- stuff rags on both sides of the cam chain gear so as to not drop either one of those cam chain bolts down into the case ( it's really hard to shake them out with the motor upside down in your arms - or worse yet ,,,, tear the whole stinking motor aprt to retreive them )
4- tie a strong string around the cam chain when you get enough slack in it so it don't flop down in the bowels of the motor.
At that point you should be able to wiggle the cam out of there.

Reasembly ,,, reverse the above. seal the head cap mating sufaces with a sealent made for such purposes. you really should have a clymers. honda or suitable manual for going inside the motor cuz there is sevral little things to be aware of when doing so.

john

bigredhead
08-28-2005, 04:29 PM