PDA

View Full Version : 85 200X Won't start

ausatutah
08-15-2005, 10:56 PM
Hi all, I'm new to 3wheelerworld and I was just looking for some ideas on what might be wrong with my bike. I just rebuild the engine out of my 85 honda 200X ATC and now she won't start, when I kick it over it does'int even try to start, it just rotates over and you can hear the compression pump out the exhaust and hear the air suck thru the carb. spark Timing and cam timing is all set right, I am going to buy a new spark plug and see if that helps, I've taken out the plug and rotated the engine and watched the intake valve open and drop gas into the cylinder and I've also held the spark plug against the head and watched it spark, seemed kinda weak but still sparking. my guess is its in the ignition part of it all. but it all ran just fine till I pulled it all apart, is there anythin I could have done while cleaning everything??? anyone else had this prob,,, Thanks in advance for any help...

nouseforaname90
08-15-2005, 10:59 PM
Hmm. Bad gas flow?? Even though you said you saw gas drop into the cylinder.
Uhm.. weak spark.. clogged carb.. air in the gas line. There are many things it could be. My guess is a weak spark. From a bad coil and/or CDI??? I'm just guessing on the coil/CDI thing, but I've seen other forumers mention it in the same situation.

chris200x
08-15-2005, 11:07 PM
I know exactly what you mean. Was it an orange spark or a pretty blue spark? sounds to me like a bad coil inside your stator. www.hyperparts.com. <--That's were I got mine from CHEAP! It's a very common problem with the honda 200 cc. Mine did the same thing. Be sure to check all your grounds and make sure they're free of dirt and rust. Be sure to check all connections too.

:welcome: to the boards. you'll love it here... :D

83185s
08-16-2005, 12:39 AM