PDA

View Full Version : How can I get some shocks rebuilt with out draining my bank account?

LonesomeTriZ
07-19-2005, 10:40 AM
I have a few Tri-Z and other shocks I need rebuilt. I do not mind doing it myself, but I have never done it before. The local shops want $130 and up a piece to do it. Why are they so expensive and is there a cheaper alternative?

DeePa
07-19-2005, 12:04 PM
just get the fork seals and ATF/fork oil and dive in. Its really not that hard. Just make sure you pay attention to how everything comes out.

I put a bushing in my 350x bottom tube before the slider, and lets just say that bushing was trashed by the time i pryed it out with a cats claw and a blowtorch.

If your seals arent weeping/leaking, just wash everything out with kerosene.

You will need a fork seal driver, i made one out of a piece of metal pipe.

Just go for it...my honda dealership wanted 120 for my 200s forks to have new seals and that didnt even include the fork oil. I did it myself for 50 bucks, for the seals and the fork oil.

Hop this helps,
Mike

LonesomeTriZ
07-19-2005, 12:24 PM
Are you talking about the front forks? Thoase I can rebiuld. I have done quite a few. I was refering the the rear coil over shock.

TimSr
07-19-2005, 04:11 PM
Good used shocks are cheaper than rebuilds, and rebuilding requires specialized equipment, including the ability to deliver pure Nitrogen at 300psi. $130 is a bargain to get one rebuilt. A good used Warrior shock sells for $95-$140.

86250RZ
07-19-2005, 04:32 PM
Only problem with rebuilt shocks is you never know what you got untill its installed on the trike. $130.00 is a good deal, the cheapest I found around here was $180.00

LonesomeTriZ
07-19-2005, 04:52 PM
Wow. I had no idea. Is this something I can do my self with out special equipment, then have it filled?

LaDano
07-19-2005, 05:32 PM