PDA

View Full Version : Oil Filter on an SX?

nouseforaname90
07-07-2005, 09:28 PM
Sorry about all the SX questions lately guys, but I'm just kinda new to this whole thing. I know there is an oil filter on an SX, where it is, and how to get it out.. but what kind of filter is it? Is it just one of those metal net kind of things that you clean and put back in, or the kind of filter like from a car that you have to change?? I'm guessing its just the metal thingy that you clean and put back in though. Thanks!!
(btw.. I would take it out and do it myself.. but I just changed the oil (before I knew about the filter), and don't feel like changing the oil again just to clean out the filter)

Maine_Triker
07-07-2005, 09:32 PM
Yup... she has a filter. It's behind that little peice on the crankcase cover. It is an actual filter and should be changed. There is a spring behind it, when you put a new filter in, don't forget that spring!!!!

The filters are the same as the 350x/250es ones. Cheap on eBay.

nouseforaname90
07-07-2005, 09:42 PM
Ok.. thanks. I have a farm supply place by my house that has a ton of different spark plugs and oil filters. I got the spark plugs for my SX there, do you think they would have the filters? Or should I just go straight to ebay?

dirtface
07-07-2005, 09:44 PM
When you put the new filter in make sure you put it in the same as you took the old one out. A buddy of mine put one in backwards, and starved his top end of oil.

Maine_Triker
07-07-2005, 09:47 PM
Check with the guy you got the plugs from. If he has the filters you would have them right away, whereas on eBay you could wait a while.

Phil

nouseforaname90
07-07-2005, 09:56 PM
Hey dirtface.. I know you live near me.. so how much do you know about tearing apart and rebuilding 3 wheelers? (SX's, specifically)

bigredhead
07-07-2005, 10:21 PM