PDA

View Full Version : ATC90 with problems

ATC90guy
06-14-2005, 11:28 PM
Howdy folks,
I have a Honda ATC-90 that somebody gave me free. The engine has been rebuilt and it's in good shape. All I had to do was time it and install the camshaft and other adjustments. The thing has ran great so far but today it just quit. I pulled the spark plug and it's wet with fuel. I have spark at the plug, bright and blue. When I try to start it, it tries to start and backfires once and blows black smoke out the tailpipe. I rattled my brain on this one and can't figure it out. :confused: Please help! Thanks!

faf_racing
06-14-2005, 11:32 PM
I say carb and you have choke problems!

ATC90guy
06-15-2005, 03:13 AM
faf:
I'm still learning here and am not a master mechanic by any means. You're saying I have carb and choke problems, but my spark plug is wet with fuel. Does that mean it may be flooding or I'm not getting enough fuel to fire off? Thanks for the help!

ATC90guy
06-15-2005, 03:22 AM
Oh I forgot to say that I took the filter screen cover off the side of the carb and found a bunch of rust. I cleaned it with gas, replaced it and it still wouldn't start. I turned the fuel drain knob to see if there was gas in the fuel bowl and fuel did drain out. It also seemed to bog down in higher rpm and gears. I am thinking maybe the float is off but when I went through the carb when I got the thing it seemed to be ok. Anybody have a spec on what the float level should be? I had a manual from the library but I had to turn it in. I will get it back though. Thanks!

faf_racing
06-15-2005, 10:47 PM