PDA

View Full Version : Any good welders in here??

86350X
02-01-2003, 04:45 PM
I am new to welding,, just a little practice t work,, anyway, I got my own welder, it's just a lttle MIG machine,,,,, I amusing .30 wire and a 75%/25% mix for shielding gas,,,,, Anyway, I am trying to make my own6 pack rack for a grab bar and somewelds come out great and others are big and glopy and the wire keeps burning back into the tip?? What do you guys think? It has to have to do withthe heat setting and wire speed those are the things I m most unfamilliar with,,,, Does it sound like its to hot/cold,,,, fast/slow????/ Any tips are appreciated

J.D.
02-01-2003, 04:50 PM
Sounds to me like your not keeping a steady pace with your hand. Sometimes you think you're going steady, but your really not. Just keep practicing and you'll get it...took me about 8 hours of practice to get pretty good with it.

86350X
02-01-2003, 04:53 PM
Thanks, I'll keep that in mind,,,, The reason I think its Wire speed or heat is because at work whe I weld my boss usually sets those for me an then I can weld pretty good,,, at least the beads look good,,, and I have never had the wire burn into the tip like it is,,that confuses me the most

J.D.
02-01-2003, 05:14 PM
I don't really know much about the settings either....see I go to a shop class, and my teacher was just teaching us how to weld and what not about a week ago. My problem to start off with is I couldn't keep my hand steady and I was doing some globby, some good too. But once I got the hang of it I had no probs. Have you ever tried stick-welding? That stuff sucks balls! It took me forever just to be able to get it started and keep going! I think mig-welding is the best and easiest way to weld :D

86350X
02-01-2003, 05:48 PM
No, I never tried stick,,,, I like mig welding because its so versatile, you can weld just about anything, including aluminium,,,,, I guess I'll just keep practicing and play wit the settings a bit.......

smokinwrench