PDA

View Full Version : Aghhh! Stuck in reverse...help!

CodyRx7
03-29-2005, 09:27 PM
Ok ok...first, I'll admit, I'm a newb to ATCs/ATVs.

I'm hoping this is just something stupid that I'm not doing that is causing the problem.

Also, this is for a new 4 wheeler I bought, but I'm sure the problem can easily be the same with an ATC since it has nothing to do with the front wheel or wheels.

Ok, now I have a 95 Kawasaki Mojave quad I purchased. I was riding it all day yesterday, and all day today with no problems.

My girlfriend wanted me to take her for a slow run around the block so we hopped on and I started it up.

I attempt to let the clutch out and take off......and WTF....we're going backwards.

Hmm....ok, I'm obviously in reverse gear.

Now, how the hell do I get out of it?

I've tried fiddling with the extra button which I assume is for reverse on the clutch. In, out, up and down with the shifter......I can't find neutral, or anything BUT reverse.

I took off the plastics, and traced the 2nd cable off the clutch lever to the end, and it hooks up to something that seems to be attached to the rear brake caliper.

I don't understand that. Is the 2nd cable for reverse, or something for neutral? What gives?

I never had it in reverse, and I didn't do anything to change it from regular forward gears....it was just IN reverse.

It ran FINE just a few hours ago when I rode it, and I haven't had any trouble while riding.

Please explain how reverse is engaged and disengaged, and what I should look for if anything. :cry:

CodyRx7
03-29-2005, 10:22 PM
Help....Anyone?

CodyRx7
03-29-2005, 10:58 PM
Uh oh......29 views and nobody knows how to shift into reverse.........this is worse than I thought!

smokey
03-29-2005, 11:14 PM
I did not know that mojaves had reverse, I assume you are talking about A mojave.

CodyRx7
03-29-2005, 11:17 PM
Yes, Mojave.....and they do have reverse.....I'm stuck in it!