PDA

View Full Version : Need help on how to clean carb

Tri-ZNate
02-28-2005, 03:21 PM
Ok I have never had to mess with the carb before but there is alot of gas commin out my over flow so I figure I need to clean it. I need instructions on how to do this, including taking it off the trike. If you could tell what to watch out for like losing any springs that would be helpful as well. Oh and it is a carb off an SX.

Dirtcrasher
02-28-2005, 05:20 PM
Your in luck - I cut and paste a post I made on this a year or so ago.....

Ive had like 3 people leave me there toys lately for bad gas problems or they think they need a new carburetor - I'm no expert, feel free to add to this but I just wanted to share my experiences. Just keep your fuel clean, run an inline filter and don't leave gas in there over the winter and you will avoid most problems. Clean your trike and the carbs outside before you start removing it.I use a well lighted table away from everyone and everything - a white rag to lay everything out in order is helpful along with a manual.

Rebuild kits are generally just orings, jets sometimes, gaskets and a new air/fuel screw. These screws if overtightened do get bent at there tip and bad gas eats the brass - either one will stop them from working correctly. There are no other magic parts in a rebuild kit.