PDA

View Full Version : Glad I found this site/ My project

thBriGuy
01-22-2005, 05:09 PM
Hello. I just found this message board, and I'm sure it is going to prove to be extremely helpful.

On these boards, I tend to be 99% lurker, since most questions I have will have been answered already somewhere, but if I dont find my answers, I will always pop up and ask.

MY PROJECT: 1982 ATC 185s in sad, sad condition.
Was a childhood toy in the 80's, but I dont think it was ever used after I graduated high school. I pulled it out from behind my dad's house this week, and have started to break it down to try to get it useable again. As far as I know, it was still in running condition when it was parked, although, the entire time we had it, we were rarely able to start it with the pull rope. We usually tied it to the back of a truck or another ATC and popped the gear. Other than the starting issue, I beleive everything worked well.

I am giving myself 11 months, and a budget of around $400 to bring this back to life, but I may go a little over budget (already dropped over $100 last night , but that included a few new tools) I have done a few mechanical projects, but this is my first "it doesn't run to start with" project. Seems pretty straightforward, but I always run into unknowns, and that is where this board will come in handy. I am ordering the book on it from amazon, so I should have that next weekend. I work way full time, and have 2 daughters under 3 at home, so tinker time is whenever I get a chance.