PDA

View Full Version : HMMMM how much to extend swinger? need sugestions!

MTS
01-10-2005, 03:17 AM
Well, i was think about my 480r that im gona build up and i cant decide on a swinger length i dont want it to be too long cuze this is no dunes machine and will be mostly MX style ridein and woods and flat out flying anyone have any sugestions for this application? also i hear the honda swingers are the easiest to extend but im wondring which is the best/strongest way to extend it, i have a few ideas but would like to hear what the pros think :D ;) :beer :w00t: :TrikesOwn

TimSr
01-10-2005, 03:55 PM
What shortcoming are you trying to address or solve, or what is it that you are wanting an extended swingarm to do for you?

BigGreenMachine
01-10-2005, 06:36 PM
I'm no pro but 2 inches would be about right for me. Just enough to keep the frontend planted when you need it to be but not still short enough to get the tire in the air when you need to. Try using the stock swingarm before you go cutting just to make sure you really need one.

Yamahammer490
01-10-2005, 11:23 PM
A longer wheelbase makes for more high speed stability and sluggish turning. Since both woods riding and MX require responsive turning my recommendation would be also to stick with the stock swingarm length or extend it only a little if you need to shift the weight bias.

For what it's worth, I think some of the factory Honda riders used to even run with SHORTENED swingers in some cases.

MTS
01-11-2005, 12:19 AM
hmm thanks for the reply's i suppose i will start with stock and work from there, i was just figureing with almost 2 times the cc's it might be a problem keeping the front end planted...........;)

TimSr
01-11-2005, 12:28 AM
A longer wheelbase makes for more high speed stability and sluggish turning. Since both woods riding and MX require responsive turning my recommendation would be also to stick with the stock swingarm length or extend it only a little if you need to shift the weight bias.