PDA

View Full Version : YTM 175 Question

atc110
12-12-2004, 03:37 PM
A guy has one for sale and here is an email between him and I:

Q:I was wondering if you have done any work on the wheeler. When you tinkered with it in August what'd you do? How'd it run? Any other info about the ytm would be appreciated. thanks H Smith"

A;That's a really good question. I bought this machine because it looked great and had great potential. I have had to go through this ritual to start it: make sure the gas is filled, replace the spark plug and give it a shot of starting fluid. It usually takes a couple of times doing this. Am I missing some adjustment? Don't know, I'm not a mechanic. The last time I used it, I ran it trail riding up north for about an hour. It's far too peppy for the kind of riding I like.

What do you guys make of this? It's in good shape cosmetically, so what do you think it's worth in this condition?
thanks

atczack
12-12-2004, 04:45 PM
Offer him $400...see if he'll take it. :D

atc110
12-12-2004, 05:13 PM
so you think it's worth $400, even with the odd starting problem?

Quickonstep
12-12-2004, 05:28 PM
i paid 100 bux for my ytm 225 off ebay, and its been running strong since i got it.. granted it was missing a seat, and the tank plastic, but all in all it has been a good bike.. oh and missing the exhuast, id offer him 200 bux and see what happens, tell him the stator is going to run you 100+ for it, and if it doesnt have spark, thats USUALLY the culprit. err getting the posts mixed up.. if its hard to start its probably low on compression, or the choke cable is broke.. just a suggestion.

Jesse

atczack
12-12-2004, 07:28 PM