PDA

View Full Version : atc70..carb terms explained please

lilatv
08-31-2004, 09:14 AM
I have rebuilt the carb and all is well.

However, I have read a few articles and would like to put a name to the part. So bare with me.

On the 70 carb...what would be the carb slide?

There are two screws on the left side. What is the left one for and the right one for and what is their names? I simply kept track of the stock positions and set them to that point when I cleaned and reinstalled the parts.

thanks

Dan Tenn
08-31-2004, 10:43 AM
Im no expert on 70 carbs, but I think I can give some help. The carb slide is the tube inside the carb that moves up and down, and is attached to the throttle cable. I slides up and down (carb slide, get it?). On most carbs they are round, but some have square corners and are called flat slide carbs. The two screws are for air/fuel mixture, and idle adjust. The idle adjust will generally extend out from the carb and be easy to adjust with fingers or screwdriver. It moves the slide up or down a little bit to control idle speed (in is faster, out is slower). The air/fuel mix screw changes the ratio of air to fuel by letting in more or less gas into the mix. Most of the time their flush with the carb, and only adjustable with a screw driver. I believe that in is less fuel (lean mix), and out is more fuel (rich, or fat mix). Hope this helps.

lilatv
08-31-2004, 10:57 AM
Okay we are on the same page then...the only thing I didn't understand was the idle screw and how it moved the carb slide (kinda thought that was it, holds the needle).

So looking into the top of the carb, there is a small protrusion that the carb slides slit ..slides over. So the idle screw moves this up and down to adjust the idle speed, correct? Regardless I get that aspect.