PDA

View Full Version : T-whut?

DixiePlowboy
12-30-2002, 09:47 PM
I've been posting here for about 2 years(most of the time under another screen name), and I've always wondered about something. Where did the designation T3 or Tecate-3 used to describe the Tecate originate? I admit that from the years 83-87(or so) when I lived and breathed 3 wheelers, until the last couple years that I re-visited that love, that many things in the ATV industry have changed. I've met people nearly my age who needed photographic evidence that there ever was a Tecate other than the 4 wheeled version :rolleyes: .

Before the period of disenchantment, there was only one machine manufactured by Kawasaki that bore the name Tecate. There was, and is, only one Tecate. Although in two different designs, it only had 3 wheels.

This is not the first shot in a flame war by no means. Anyone may call anything what they wish of course. I only wish to appeal to those of you that are devoted 3-wheeler people to give the Tecate the place of honour it deserves(curse it's factory ignition system at will though :x ), and to let you know that there's someone out here that still knows what a Tecate is without a number in it's name. ;)

tony_250r
12-30-2002, 10:31 PM
I know that Tecate is a city or county in Mexico. They have a big race in Tecate, it's just like the Baja 500. That's where the name comes from. I think the three must stand for three wheels.

I run 86 Honda 250R. I know that the vomit green (J/k) Tecate is the fastest three wheller ever produced for the general public. I give credit where credit is due, you don't see many around.

DixiePlowboy
12-30-2002, 10:44 PM
tony_250r,
That is where the Tecate got it's name from.