PDA

View Full Version : 250r gearing???Also exhaust Question.

WannaRace400ex
06-30-2004, 09:26 PM
Im new with 2-strokes. Are the 1st and 2nd gears supposed to be so short? It seems like I have to shift very quickly from 1st to 2nd but then 3rd is like a rocket.
Alright now the header coming out. When I start it I see a poof of white smoke coming out. I looked at the gasket and its not coming from there but from in between the pipe and the shield thing. Whats causing this?
Thanks Eric

hondatrikesrule22
06-30-2004, 10:11 PM
I have never ridden a 250r, but if you want longer gears and more top speed, throw on a 40 tooth rear sprocket.

RichinMO
06-30-2004, 10:38 PM
I have never ridden a 250r, but if you want longer gears and more top speed, throw on a 40 tooth rear sprocket.

Actually a bigger rear sprocket would decrease speed and cause you to go through the gears faster. the stock sprockets on a '85 250r are 13/39, so you'd have to go with a 38 or smaller rear sprocket to gain speed. And yeah it doesn't take long to go through the gears on a 250R. As for the smoke deal, if its coming from between the pipe and the heatshield, sounds like a hole in the pipe.

hondatrikesrule22
06-30-2004, 10:53 PM
Damn, I thought the 250r had a 50 tooth rear sprocket. Yeah, you might wanna throw on a 38 tooth sprocket if thats the case.

TimSr
06-30-2004, 11:00 PM
If you change one tooth on the back, you probably wont even be able to detect the difference! About 4 teeth on the back = one tooth on the front.