PDA

View Full Version : Swing arm wheel bearings: Bearings are STUCK; How to remove

12-19-2002, 06:02 PM
Hello I am new to 3wheelers and bikes in general. Just found an 84 200x and it needs some work. Bearings and rear brakes, so far.

There was a lot of play on the axle so I decided to replace the bearings.
Unfortunately the bearing housing is stuck. It is rust welded in place.
Any ideas on getting the bearings out when they are stuck this bad.
On one side I cut with dremel all the way until the outer ring, then made to slots and tapped the cut piece, except only half of it came flying out.
The other chunk is like welded to the swing arm; no way it wants to come out. Need some ideas on how to get these bearings off.
Especially the one that I cut and only the outer ring is left; more like a "C". Second time I tried this the same thing happened. Only a small bit came out and a small sheered piece left. This ring it really stuck. Help.

Dirtcrasher
12-19-2002, 07:37 PM