PDA

View Full Version : 1980 Honda atc 110 no spark at all

Powerlifter123
08-23-2020, 09:32 PM
Hey all I’ve posted a couple times here about my 125 but that’s all up and running great now. I bought a 110 and seems to be electrical or parts related. Remember I’m a complete newb. I’m going to ask questions and may sound stupid but the more I throw out there hopefully some people will answer some if not all lol

I replaced the points and set gap. I aligned the F so that when on the line the point gap just starts to slightly open. I put in new spark wire harness thing that grounds to the frame with new spark plug. I got wired the black and green wire to remove the kill switch out of the equation.
I just ordered fly wheel remover tool so I can dig deeper into this bike and look at the condenser or stater? See if that’s bad causing no spark.

Is there anything I’m missing? What parts on the bike can cause no spark so I can switch them out with new parts ? The carb is all cleaned but that doesn’t help at all cause I can’t get a spark.

Help me please!!! And thank you!

geyerman89
08-24-2020, 08:21 AM
pull spark plug out, ground it metal to metal on the fins or something. pull recoil while grounded and look for spark. if you pull stator, clean magnet areas on it and rotor

Powerlifter123
08-24-2020, 09:51 AM
Ok thank you will try that. I’ve put spark plug to bolt to ground and have held it in my hand to feel any spark or shock. Nothing.

shortline10
08-24-2020, 11:42 AM
What year 110 ?
79/80 ?
The original coil has the condenser and coil as one piece .

Powerlifter123
08-24-2020, 12:44 PM
It’s an 80. I replaced one with one off amazon that’s the unit. I tried that and I tried the oem part with new points and nothing. Tried original one with new spark cap and new plug still nothing. Now I’m back to the new replacement part back on the bike

DAM shop
08-24-2020, 01:17 PM