PDA

View Full Version : O Boy, split the cases

Trikeaholic
02-14-2004, 02:21 PM
Oh, man, Im not a super mechanic or anything, but I split apart one of my junk Z motors just now (the 85) I want to get the tranny out of the 86 bottom end and put it in a decent running motor. All I can say is I think this might be a little beyond my capabilities. Is it really that tough?? what little tricks are there to getting that tranny in there? I have a manual, but I really have not read into it that closeley, both cases were smashed from the bottom end going out, so I figured I would just tear it apart to see what the whole deal was-is. BTW, the frame is out getting powdercoated, shock out to get rebuilt, snipes in on some rims and hubs, got some parts coming, but I think I may have to farm out the motor. I dunno. I want to do it myself, but boy, its pretty confusing in there.

03 ORANGE SHEE
02-14-2004, 02:42 PM
ive been in my two z's a few times to replace the crank,and modify one of the shift stars,it is easier than you think,only take 20 minutes to split once out of the frame,,you will need a flywheel puller ($10),the timing is adjustable on them ,so make a mark to remember where the timing is set,may have to tap out the crank,sometimes they stick to the bearings in the cases,and you will need an electric impact to remove the clutch basket nut,and the gear on the crank that drives the clutch gear,if you pm me ill give ya # and ill walk ya through it,the cases only use yamabond for a gasket

Dirtcrasher
02-14-2004, 06:14 PM
My 250SX has about the most tranny pieces I've ever seen in any motor.

For me I look over the manual with everything in front of me and dry assemble it. Usually every washer or collar actually makes sense as to where it goes and why.

Alot of times I use quart size baggies and keep every assembly seperate like the kickstart, clutch, waterpump etc. and I write notes on them "thrust washer behind it" "oil holes up" etc etc.