PDA

View Full Version : CPSC what really happened??

nipper
02-10-2004, 05:45 PM
hi i'm new to all this trike legal stuff (although i have owned atv trikes for over 3 years!!). so what attually happened? yeah they were banned but why and how did they get away with doing it???
thx
nip

Domingo
02-10-2004, 07:07 PM
I was going to post the same thing in a couple days. I would like to know what happened and how the ban movement all got started. I hope someone who knows can help us out.

speedracer350X
02-10-2004, 08:01 PM
Basically if I can remember correctley, it was more or less people suing the crap out of all the big makers of 3 wheelers, mainly Honda. I think it more or less got to the point where alot of lawyers pushed the subject with the CPSC, mainly a fellow by the name of Stuart Statler? Back in around 85 or so. I started out in 85 on a brand new 110 (still have it). I was only 11 at the time, but I got a subscription to ATV News, and their always was articles about the manufactures vs. the CPSC. And in my opinion, alot of people saw it as a get rich quick scheme. I mean, no offense to the people who got hurt, but 99% of us realize it is usually the riders fault, not the machine. And I remember 20/20 shows, deliberatly rolling a 200S to prove how "dangerous" 3 wheelers supposedly are. Plus they showed clips of young and I mean small riders, on 250R's and such, flying around the dunes and wrecking, no helmet of course. But gee, where are the parents? I remember the first 6 months I had my 110, my dad always watched me in the yard. Helmet on, always. Then later, just like learning to ride a bike, checking in at the house every so often. ANyways, sorry to ramble on. Mostly that's my plain jane version of what happend. Same thing trying to go on again, with all ATV's. SO people, we all have to practice and preach safe, respectful riding!!!

Billy Golightly
02-10-2004, 08:04 PM