PDA

View Full Version : Master cylinder cover bolts

fieldy
05-01-2016, 01:23 AM
I tried using impact driver to remove them from the front metal reservoir and the plastic rear reservoir. How is the best way to get them out? I've never seen any stuck like this before. I got one bolt out on two trikes. They are Phillips. All of them were already stripped, wollered out.Will a certain brand of extractor do anything or are they toast?

AK47KID
05-01-2016, 01:49 AM
Im not an expert ( one of the more knowledgeable guy will come around) but have you tried using a hammer and tap the reservoir to break the bolt threads loose? I did this to a banshee and the threads came loose

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

onformula1
05-01-2016, 02:06 AM
The problem is they are JIS screws, Japanese Industrial Standard. They are not the same as a Phillips bit.

fieldy
05-01-2016, 08:13 AM
Anyone heat the cast type metal resivoir. Maybe drain the brake fluid and use a little heat? I know there is a rubber diaphram or two I would have to replace/rebuild.
Yes, it always seemed like Phillips were not quite the right fit. I have always been able to get them with the impact on other trikes but some genious worked on them before and i will never have a good bite. I have beat on some of the screws with a chisel trying to knock em loose. Blaster sprayed on them for a long time.
I will Google the JIT to try to find a bit. The fluid must have rusted them in, maybe to never let loose.
Im scratching my noggin on this. I dont want to buy new front master assemblies. I have seen
the little chisneeze metal colored resivoirs for the rear.

RoscoW
05-01-2016, 09:28 AM