PDA

View Full Version : 84 250r pressure test

averysdad
03-31-2016, 05:18 PM
Can anyone tell me What size pvc pipe I need to fit snugly in the intake boot? And what size freez plug do I need for the exhaust? I don't really want to take the carb and pipe of until I have the tester

loganm
03-31-2016, 05:35 PM
Takes like 15 minutes to take them off dude.

Why are you doing a pressure test on an engine that you know has low compression? IMO top end refresh and crank seals (you don't need to split the cases for it if you're creative) and fresh gaskets before you do anything else.

averysdad
03-31-2016, 06:14 PM
Well I am not a master mechanic/tuner like you. And also my bike has a silencer on it so may take me 20 or 30 min.

If it passes the pressure test I just need a top end if not I need a full rebuild top and bottom.

I don't think bad rings will effects the pressure test dose it?

loganm
03-31-2016, 06:39 PM
Rings won't affect the pressure test. You don't necessarily need a full rebuild if it doesn't pass a pressure test. The only reason you would split the cases is to replace main bearings/crank rebuild, or replace bearings in the transmission.

You won't need to pull the silencer, just the header. If you still have an airbox it may take a little longer, I can pull the header and carb on mine in 5 but there isn't anything in the way. If the engine is still running with a worn out top end it is HIGHLY unlikely you need anything more than a top end refresh and seals. IMO I wouldn't even bother with a pressure test unless you're building a full blown race motor, and want to eliminate every variable possible.

yaegerb
03-31-2016, 08:02 PM
Can anyone tell me What size pvc pipe I need to fit snugly in the intake boot? And what size freez plug do I need for the exhaust? I don't really want to take the carb and pipe of until I have the tester

Try 1-3/4" for the pvc pipe off the intake boot. 1-1/2 for the expandable exhaust plug. You can get the plug at autozone.