PDA

View Full Version : 85 250R Motor Teardown

newby200x
12-15-2015, 10:31 AM
I'm getting ready to tear down my 85R motor, the left case has some damage and I want to send it out to BDT to be repaired. This is my first time ever splitting a case and was just looking for any tips or advice as to what to look for, do's and don'ts, tricks for disassembly/assembly, and so forth. Any input is appreciated.

hatc200x1
12-17-2015, 12:36 PM
Best thing to do is have a clean bench, and be organized. Get sandwhich bags and a sharpie to label parts and assemblies. Here is a link to a manual that can help.
http://www.oscarmayer.net/atc/manuals/

onformula1
12-17-2015, 12:57 PM
Grab a cardboard box lay your cases down on it trace it out with a sharpie punch the holes with a pick and pop the bolts though, label everything.

Musical bolts is no fun and can cause damage.

Clean everything to a inch of its life.

Sent from my SM-G386T1 using Tapatalk

Red Rider
12-17-2015, 02:23 PM
Above all else, do not wedge anything (screwdriver) in between the cases to pry them apart. Be patient, methodical, and take your time, and they will come apart undamaged. Oh yeah, one other thing, have patience. Enjoy!

newby200x
01-06-2016, 05:46 PM

I'm worried about the exhaust bridge on this cylinder. I took a look at it last night, the cylinder is on the stock bore, has a few minor scratches that can only be felt w/ a finger nail. But the exhaust bridge looks like the sleeve is wore through? Can anyone shed some light on this?

Red Rider
01-06-2016, 06:56 PM
It looks like the exhaust bridge has been relieved. Some builders do that to keep bridge from bowing out, and scarring the piston/rings, when the sleeve heats up & expands.

atc300r
01-07-2016, 07:58 AM
It looks like the exhaust bridge has been relieved. Some builders do that to keep bridge from bowing out, and scarring the piston/rings, when the sleeve heats up & expands.