PDA

View Full Version : Testing the headlight on my '85 ATC250R

Qdude79
05-21-2015, 03:57 PM
Fresh off a nut and bolt rebuild, my trike had the wiring for headlight when I bought it, but no headlight (or taillight, for that matter). Have since added a headlight with a brand new bulb but don't get so much as a flicker. I'm a novice with a multi-meter, but I have one, and get low AC voltage readings (single digits) when it's running. Can anyone give me some steps on how to diagnose my problem? :confused:

Qdude79
05-22-2015, 04:06 PM
63 views over two days and nobody knows???

Mr. Clean
05-22-2015, 04:41 PM
http://www.oscarmayer.net/atc/manuals/

Download the Honda 250r Manual. It gives you all the information you need to test the headlight circuit.

Qdude79
05-22-2015, 04:52 PM
I've got it and tried it. Does not tell me what I should be getting out of the headlight plug. Just how to test the lighting circuit for connectivity.

Qdude79
05-26-2015, 12:44 PM
Anybody willing to try and get readings from their working headlight plug that I could compare to so I at least know what it SHOULD be?

Varget22
05-26-2015, 02:36 PM
Make sure you have your meter set to read AC and not DC. It should be in the neighborhood of 12 to 14 volts AC depending on the rpms of the motor.

Qdude79
05-26-2015, 03:18 PM
Thanks Varget!

I did that, (making sure it was AC) and all I got was somewhere between 1.5 to maybe 4 volts when revved. Bike runs fine otherwise. What would that indicate? Lighting coil? Alternator altogether?

Thanks again, now I feel like I'm getting somewhere!

Varget22
05-26-2015, 09:51 PM
Measure the amount of AC voltage going into the regulator from the generator. According to the schematic it is a yellow wire with a white stripe. I'm not exactly sure what the amount of AC voltage is but it should be a good bit more than 14 volts.

Qdude79
05-27-2015, 02:51 PM