PDA

View Full Version : Just out of the shop '83 200X running pig rich. Any ideas before I go exploring?

TheRadBaron
01-05-2015, 07:15 PM
I bought a well-used '83 ATC200X last fall and I've been refreshing it over the last few months. It started and idled when I got it but I never rode it since the axle bearings were blown out. I just got it all done and took it out for its first spin. It's running extremely rich, so much so that it barely runs. I'm a pretty experienced tuner of vintage Japanese stuff but I'm new to ATCs. I can tell it's rich by how it runs and the plug is really sooty and black. The reason that I'm asking here before I start tearing into the carb again is that sometimes models have a unique problem that they're known for and it might be an easy fix as long as you know what to look for. And you guys are the experts.
When I got the trike I pulled the carb off for cleaning and it had a 108 main jet and a 38 pilot jet. They were both pretty mangled so I replaced them with new genuine Honda jets in the sizes that are specified for the '83. That's a 110 main and a 40 pilot. I also cleaned the carb really well and set the float height by measuring from the float to the carb body surface, as per the manual. The carb looked to be in good shape and I'm pretty confident that I cleaned it well. So it's now jetted just a bit richer than it was when I got it but I wouldn't think that it would be enough to make it run so rich. Plus, they're brand new jets in the sizes that the trike came with.
Anyone have ideas? I figure I'll have to take the carb back off and look around but I though it was worth a shot to ask here first. Thanks.

YTZ drew
01-05-2015, 10:44 PM
Maybe this is a silly question, but are you sure its a 200X carb? If its off of a 185/200 automatic, or even an XR100 (all visually identical, it would have a smaller bore than the 200X. Standard jets in a smaller bore carb would equal very rich running.

TheRadBaron
01-05-2015, 11:36 PM